



Central Virginia Metropolitan Planning Organization

828 Main Street, 12th Floor, Lynchburg, Virginia 24504

~ MINUTES~

July 27, 2017, 4:00 pm

MEMBERS PRESENT	
Lee Beaumont	Liberty University
Carl Boggess	
Brian Booth	
Jack Hobbs	Town of Amherst
William Mays, Vice Chair	Amherst County
Turner Perrow, Chair	City of Lynchburg
Dean Rodgers	Amherst County
Bonnie Svrcek	City of Lynchburg
Dwayne Tuggle	
Chris Winstead	VDOT Lynchburg District
MEMBERS ABSENT	
Frank Rogers	Campbell County
Michael Rousseau	Campbell County
John Sharp	Bedford County
Dwayne Tuggle	
OTHERS PRESENT	
Nick BrittonVirginia I	Department of Rail and Public Transportation
Gary Christie	Local Government Council/CVMPO
David Cook	
Ed Craighill	Boxley/LRTAG Chair
Don DeBerry	
Nick Donahue	
Mariel Fowler	
Rachel Frischeisen	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
Philipp Gabathuler	• •
Sherese Gore	
Gaynelle Hart	
Charles Hartgove	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
Paul Harvey	, , ,
Kelly Hitchcock	<u> </u>

Carol Linkenhoker	
Margie Ray	VDOT
	Dept. of Rails and Public Transportation
W. Scott Smith	Local Government Council/CVMPO
Chad Tucker	VDOT
Shannon Valentine	

1. Call to Order

Turner Perrow, Chair, called the meeting to order at 4:00 pm.

Turner asked for introductions by everyone present.

2. Approval of Minutes – April 20, 2017 Meeting

Upon a motion by Bonnie Svrcek to approve the minutes of the April 20, 2017 meeting, seconded by Dean Rodgers, this motion carried by unanimous vote.

3. Opportunity for Public Comment – There were none.

4. Election of Officers

Scott Smith informed the group that according to the by-laws, officers can continue to serve more than one term and opened the floor for nominations for chair.

Carl Boggess nominated Turner Perrow to serve as chair for a second year. The nomination was seconded by Dean Rodgers, and was unanimously approved by members present.

Turner opened the floor for nominations for vice-chair, and personally nominated Will Mays. Dean Rodgers seconded the nomination, and Mr. Mays was unanimously approved by those present.

5. Adopt a Resolution of Support for the Lynchburg Regional Connectivity Study

The motion to adopt the resolution was made by Bonnie Svrcek, and also commended our Commonwealth Transportation Board member for spearheading the study. The motion was seconded by Carl Boggess, and was approved unanimously by members present.

6. Presentation and Discussion on SmartScale Projects, Measures, and Proposed Changes for the next Application Cycle

Chad Tucker spoke to the group about how things are changing regarding transportation projects and allocation of funds. In the first six year program adopted after SmartScale

this district had almost \$400,000,000. In the six year program just adopted in June the district had \$343,000,000. He credits this to the change in the allocation formula.

A presentation was delivered on factor areas, and measuring safety, accessibility, and economic development.

- **7. Matters from the Members** There were none.
- **8.** Adjournment There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 5:45 p.m.