



Central Virginia Metropolitan Planning Organization

828 Main Street, 12th Floor, Lynchburg, Virginia 24504

~DRAFT MINUTES~

July 27, 2017, 4:00 pm

MEMBERS PRESENT	
Lee BeaumontLiberty Un	niversity
Carl BoggessBedford	l County
Brian Booth Greater Lynchburg Transit C	ompany
Jack Hobbs	Amherst
William Mays, Vice ChairAmhers	t County
Turner Perrow, ChairCity of Ly	nchburg
Dean Rodgers	st County
Bonnie SvrcekCity of Ly	nchburg
Dwayne Tuggle	
Chris WinsteadVDOT Lynchbur	g District
MEMBERS ABSENT	
	ll County
Michael Rousseau	•
John SharpBedford	•
Dwayne Tuggle	
,,	
OTHERS PRESENT	
Nick Britton	sportation
Gary Christie Local Government Council	
David Cook	
Ed Craighill	_
Don DeBerryCity of L	
Nick Donahue	
Mariel FowlerBedfor	_
Rachel FrischeisenCity of L	-
Philipp Gabathuler Local Government Council	
Sherese Gore	
Gaynelle HartCity of L	
Charles HartgoveCity of L	
Paul Harvey	
Kelly HitchcockLocal Governmen	•

Carol Linkenhoker	
Margie Ray	VDOT
Katie Schering	Dept. of Rails and Public Transportation
W. Scott Smith	Local Government Council/CVMPO
Chad Tucker	VDOT
Shannon Valentine	

1. Call to Order

Turner Perrow, Chair, called the meeting to order at 4:00 pm.

Turner asked for introductions by everyone present.

2. Approval of Minutes – April 20, 2017 Meeting

Upon a motion by Bonnie Svrcek to approve the minutes of the April 20, 2017 meeting, seconded by Dean Rodgers, this motion carried by unanimous vote.

3. Opportunity for Public Comment – There were none.

4. Election of Officers

Scott Smith informed the group that according to the by-laws, officers can continue to serve more than one term and opened the floor for nominations for chair.

Carl Boggess nominated Turner Perrow to serve as chair for a second year. The nomination was seconded by Dean Rodgers, and was unanimously approved by members present.

Turner opened the floor for nominations for vice-chair, and personally nominated Will Mays. Dean Rodgers seconded the nomination, and Mr. Mays was unanimously approved by those present.

5. Adopt a Resolution of Support for the Lynchburg Regional Connectivity Study

The motion to adopt the resolution was made by Bonnie Svrcek, and also commended our Commonwealth Transportation Board member for spearheading the study. The motion was seconded by Carl Boggess, and was approved unanimously by members present.

6. Presentation and Discussion on SmartScale Projects, Measures, and Proposed Changes for the next Application Cycle

Chad Tucker spoke to the group about how things are changing regarding transportation projects and allocation of funds. In the first six year program adopted after SmartScale

this district had almost \$400,000,000. In the six year program just adopted in June the district had \$343,000,000. He credits this to the change in the allocation formula.

A presentation was delivered on factor areas, and measuring safety, accessibility, and economic development.

- **7. Matters from the Members** There were none.
- **8.** Adjournment There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 5:45 p.m.