Central Virginia Metropolitan Planning Organization

Lynchburg Regional Business Alliance

~ MINUTES~

June 18, 2020, 4:00 pm

MEMBERS PRESENT

Jimmy Ayers	Amherst County
Brian Booth	
Kenny Craig	Liberty University
Jon Hardie	
Amanda Kaufmann (alternate for Robert Hiss)	Bedford County
Turner Perrow, Chair	City of Lynchburg
Dean Rodgers	Amherst County
Frank Rogers	
Bonnie Svrcek	City of Lynchburg
Dwayne Tuggle	
Chris Winstead	VDOT Lynchburg District
MEMBERS ABSENT Sara Carter Daniel Sonenklar John Sharp	Dept. of Rail and Public Transportation
OTHERS PRESENT	
Gary Christie	
Will Cockrell	
Bill Wuensch	
Will Cockrell	
W. Scott Smith	
Marissa Sperry	EPR
Phil White	EDD

1. Call to Order

Turner Perrow, Chair, called the meeting to order at 4:00 pm via GoToMeeting.

2. Approval of Minutes: January 16, 2020

Upon a motion made by Jon Hardie, seconded by Frank Rogers, the motion to approve the minutes of the January 16, 2020 meeting were unanimously approved.

3. Public Hearing on Proposed FY 21-24 Central Virginia Transportation Improvement Program (CVTIP)

No comments were received.

4. Election of Officers for FY 20-21

At the July 2019 meeting, the CVTPO Policy Board adopted an informal officer rotation (by member locality) for the future. Per this rotation, the proposed Chair would be Jon Hardie, Campbell County Representative, and the proposed Vice Chair would be Jimmy Ayers, Amherst County Representative.

By consensus, the election of officers as stated was approved.

5. Consideration of Proposed FY 21-24 Central Virginia Transportation Improvement Program (CVTIP)

A motion was made by Bonnie Svrcek, seconded by Jimmy Ayers, to adopt the resolution approving Central Virginia Transportation Improvement Program as presented, and was unanimously approved.

6. Consideration of Proposed FY 20-21 Unified Planning Work Program (UPWP)

Frank Rogers made a motion, seconded by Jon Hardie, to adopt the resolution approving of the Unified Planning Work Program, which was unanimously approved.

A motion was made by Frank Rogers, seconded by Bonnie Svrcek, to adopt the resolution authorizing the filing of applications with the Virginia Department of Rail and Public Transportation for grants of federal funds under Federal Transit Administration Section 5303 program and state matching funds by the CVTPO secretary, and was unanimously approved.

7. Prioritized Project Listing for Connect Central Virginia 2045 Plan

Scott Smith reported that the PDC, in conjunction with EPR and the Transportation Technical Committee, has been working to determine the specific projects for the Long Range Transportation Plan.

Will Cockrell with EPR reviewed the project list development procedure over the past several months. Using the explained scoring metrics and data assessed during this time, the project list includes 22 projects for the City of Lynchburg, three projects for Campbell County, three for Amherst County, and two for Bedford County.

Scott Smith explained that the Transportation Technical Committee, in consultation with stakeholders in Campbell County, determined that the proposed southern bypass should not be including in the recommended projects being scored. Chairman Perrow recommended that the bypass project be considered, at least partially, due to the potential growth in the area.

8. Matters from the Members

Rick Youngblood reported that VDOT received 33 Smart Scale applications totaling approximately \$328 billion in project costs and are currently in the screening process for all applications.

Bonnie Svrcek thanked Chairman Turner Perrow for his service and leadership to the Policy Board and acknowledged his contributions to the TPO.

9. Adjourn: There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 5:00 p.m.