Central Virginia Transportation Technical Committee

828 Main Street, 12th Floor, May 14, 2020 at 10:30 a.m.

Electronic Meeting: GoToMeeting

MINUTES

DDECENT	
PRESENT Brian Booth (U)	Grantar I ynabburg Trongit Company
Sara Carter (U)	
Mariel Fowler (U/R)	
Paul Harvey (U/R)	5
Kevin Jones (U/R)	
Andrew LaGala (U)	Ŭ •
J. Lee Newland (U)	
Anne Nygaard (U)	
Gary Shanaberger (R)	
Daniel Sonenklar (U/R)Virgin	
Russell Thurston (R)	-
Sharon Williams (R)	
Rick Youngblood (U/R)	
Mary Zirkle (R)	
•	
ABSENT	
Jeremy Bryant (U/R)	Amherst County
Todd Carroll (U)	Liberty University
Johnnie Roark (R)	Appomattox County
Mohammad Zaid (U)	City of Lynchburg
U- Members representing the urbanized area of the region	
R- Members representing the rural area of the region	
OTHER BRECENT	
OTHERS PRESENT	EDD
Will Cockrell	
Gary Christie	
Mallory Cook	
Todd Daniel	<u> </u>
Michael Philipp Gabathuler	<u> </u>
Kelly Hitchcock	
Scott Smith	
Phil White	
1 III 11 III	L1 K

1. Call to Order

Paul Harvey, Chair, called the meeting to order via GoToMeeting at 10:30 a.m.

2. Roll Call

Scott Smith conducted a roll call of the TTC members and other participating individuals present at the meeting.

3. Approval of the March 12, 2020 Meeting Minutes

Upon a motion by Mariel Fowler, and seconded by Anne Nygaard, the minutes from March 12, 2020 were unanimously approved.

4. Recommendation to TPO Policy Board of CVTPO Unified Planning Work Program (UPWP) for Fiscal Year 2020-21.

Scott Smith presented the urban transportation work program for the next fiscal year. Highlights include the completion of the Long-Range Transportation Plan update (with web-based component) and the Village Highway Corridor Study in Rustburg.

A motion was made by Mary Zirkle, seconded by Sharon Williams to send the recommendation to the TPO Policy Board, and was unanimously approved.

5. Recommendation to Central VA Planning District Commission of CVPDC Rural Work Program (UPWP) for Fiscal Year 2020-21.

Scott Smith presented the rural transportation work program for the next fiscal year. Highlights include providing staff support to the Village Highway (Rustburg) Corridor Study and completion of the Independence Boulevard/Longwood Avenue Intersection Study in Bedford.

Mariel Fowler made a motion, seconded by Mary Zirkle to send the recommendation to the CVPDC, which was unanimously approved.

6. Overview of Long-Range Transportation Plan (LRTP) Progress

Will Cockrell shared that EPR has been conducting individual meetings with the included localities about projects and provided a review of the development for selecting projects. The most recent completed survey was the most successful so far, having nearly 1,000 comments and responses from constituents and are now currently in the last engagement phase.

7. Discussion on LRTP Public Engagement during COVID-19 Pandemic

Because of the community response to COVID-19 and health concerns, EPR has developed a new plan including a live, online public meeting in June that can be broadcast on the

community access channel to accommodate those without internet access. Another consideration would be to create an in-person meeting location with plenty of space to accommodate social distancing.

Mary Zirkle shared that there may be some facilities to accommodate a public viewing space, such as the Bedford Welcome Center. Anne Nygaard expressed concern regarding planning for such an event without foreknowledge about attendance numbers. According to EPR, in the past meetings like these have had low engagement with numbers in attendance that would comply with social distancing guidelines.

The Committee discussed conducting a meeting on June 30th. The Committee was also in agreement that the focus would be a focus of online options with local access broadcasts while continuing to explore more public venue options for in-person participants.

8. Matters from the Committee

Scott Smith informed the Committee that he will be resigning from his position as Transportation Director in September when his family moves out of state. The PDC will begin looking for a new director in June.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 11:26 a.m.

The next meeting will be on June 11, 2020 at 10:30 a.m.